Domestic violence, is not acceptable in any shape or form. It can consist of abuse, violence, controlling, coercive or threatening behaviour violence or abuse between between related family members of all race and sex.

It includes the following types of abuse:

  • psychological abuse or violence
  • physical abuse
  • sexual abuse
  • financial abuse
  • emotional abuse.

There are many other forms of domestic violence including harassment, stalking, rape, sexual assault, female genital mutilation, forced marriage and honour-based abuse that are culture based.

If you are a victim of domestic abuse, report it to the police. Domestic abuse is a criminal offences and the police can  charge the perpetrator.

The police can also give you protection and advice.